



Thursday, May 9, 2019 | 6:30 p.m.

Willenberg

The Program

MEET AND GREET

OPENING Joshua Moore

Assistant Dean of Diversity and Inclusion

IMANI GOSPEL CHOIR "LIFT EVERY VOICE AND SING"

FINAL FAREWELL Cori Cleveland (Philosophy)

WORDS BY PRESIDENT DR. MICHAEL FRANDSEN

INVOCATION The Rev. Jacqueline L. Randolph

New North Street AME Church

Springfield, Ohio

DINNER IS SERVED

INTERIM VICE PRESIDENT FOR ADVANCEMENT MOLLY FANNON WILLIAMS

ACKNOWLEDGMENT OF ALUMNI

WORDS BY DR. RONALD C. WOODS '69 AND WENDY MILLER WOODS '71

RAYMOND JONES, AUDIO VISUAL TECHNICIAN, PRESENTING:

Outstanding Athlete Award

Pan Africanist Award

"Passing the Light" Award

Perseverance Award

FINAL FAREWELL BY DORIAN HUNTER '19 (MARKETING/ COMM)

LEUL BULCHA '20, PRESIDENT OF CBS, PRESENTING:

The CBS Dedication Award

IMANI GOSPEL CHOIR SELECTIONS

FINAL FAREWELL BY GLORIA CRAIG '19 (SOCIOLOGY)

DR. SHA'DAWN BATTLE, ASST. PROFESSOR OF ENGLISH

PRESENTING: Academic Performance Award
Outstanding Scholar Award
Bridge-Builder Award

WORDS BY INTERIM PROVOST DR. MARY JO ZEMBAR

INDIVIDUAL RECOGNITION OF GRADUATES

President Frandsen, Provost Zembar and Janine Dogan,

Asst. Registrar

NAMES READ BY STUDENT COMMITTEE MEMBERS

FINAL FAREWELL: Donna Hill '18 (December) (Sociology)

CLOSING REMARKS AND FINAL AWARD PRESENTATIONS

Dr. Julius Bailey, Assoc. Prof of Philosophy

Social to Follow in Founders Pub (basement)

Cash Bar

The 2019 Congratulatory Committee Appreciates the Generosity of the Following:

OUR EVENT SPONSORS

Robert '67 and Blossom Perry

Latosha Johnson Bell '07 and Dustin Bell Jennette '74 and Michael Bradley Janet E. Jackson '75 Dr. John '82 and Tina Bergeest Marr '82

Dr. Ronald '69 and Wendy Miller Woods '71

OUR BCD DONORS

Dr. Lori Askeland and Frank DoDen

Dr. Julius Bailey

Wendy Williams Ford '76 and Eddie Ford '75

Brian May '99

Kenneth '72 and Willie Jones Scott '74

OUR BCD PATRONS

Dr. Shakeer and Alida Abdullah

Drs. J. Robert Baker and Mary Jo Groves

Brandee Bates-Kern

Kenneth and Patricia Benne

Dr. Tim and JoAnn Bennett

Helen and Jeff Collins

Dr. Tim Bode and Sheryl Cox

Janine Dogan

Sarah and Richard Fox

Dr. Margaret Goodman

Ionathan Green

Debbie Henderson

Dr. William and Aparna Higgins

Dr. Justin and Valerie House-Knecht

Dr. Robin Inboden

Ken Irwin

Kent Brooks and Dr. Rick Incorvati

Doug Lehman

Marsha Magill

Dr. Nancy McHugh

Dr. Michelle and Brian McWhorter

Kristen and Chris Peters

Dr. Chris Raffensperger and Cara Kane

Dr. Cherie and Michael Rebar

Pastors Rachel and Anders Tune

Dr. Brooke Wagner

Michele Williams

Dr. Molly Wood

Dr. Paul Voytas and Dr. Elizabeth George

Dr. Brian Yontz

Our Campus Units

OFFICE OF ADVANCEMENT AND ALUMNI RELATIONS

OFFICE OF THE PROVOST

OFFICE OF STUDENT DEVELOPMENT

WE ALSO THANK THE FOLLOWING AREAS FOR YOUR DONATIONS AND SERVICE

AFRICAN AND DIASPORA STUDIES

WILLIAM A. MCCLAIN CENTER FOR DIVERSITY

DEPT. OF EDUCATION

DEPT. OF ENGLISH

PARKHURST DINING SERVICES

DEPT. OF PHILOSOPHY

OFFICE OF THE PRESIDENT

OFFICE OF SCHEDULING AND EVENTS

UNIVERSITY COMMUNICATIONS

ACADEMIC EXCELLENCE: This award is given to the student with the highest G.P.A. of the graduating class.

ATHLETICS EXCELLENCE: This award is given to the student-athlete who has achieved the most recognition for their performance on and off the field of play.

BRIDGE-BUILDER AWARD: This award is given to a student who was committed to diversity and insistent upon cross-cultural conversation across campus with faculty, students and staff.

OUTSTANDING SCHOLAR: This award is given to an outstanding student with a 3.0 GPA or better, whose research has been presented in the form of a publication, public venue and/or a conference.

PAN-AFRICANIST AWARD: This award is given to a student whose advocacy and student leadership as an international student demonstrates service, compassion and justice across the Black Diaspora.

"PASSING THE LIGHT": This award is given to a student of faith who exemplifies and promotes ministry in its best forms within the campus community.

PERSEVERANCE AWARD: This award is given to a student whose commitment to the completion of the degree, while overcoming obstacles along the journey, is awe-inspiring.

Special Awards

THE "JIMMY" WILLIAMS MEMORIAL AWARD: This award is given to a student/ staff or faculty member who consistently goes above and beyond the call of duty to their normal responsibilities on campus.

LIFETIME LEARNER: This special award is given to an exemplar of dedication as a non-traditional student.

CBS DEDICATION AWARD: This award is given to someone whose years of service, love and dedication to Wittenberg and Concerned Black Students has made this campus a much better place.

Lift Every Voice and Sing

WRITTEN BY JAMES W. JOHNSON
PERFORMED BY WITTENBERG UNIVERSITY'S IMANI GOSPEL CHOIR
UNDER THE DIRECTION OF MR. KENT BROOKS

Lift every voice and sing, till earth and Heaven ring,
Ring with the harmonies of liberty;
Let our rejoicing rise, high as the listening skies,
Let it resound loud as the rolling sea.
Sing a song full of the faith that the dark past has taught us,
Sing a song full of the hope that the present has brought us;
Facing the rising sun of our new day begun,
Let us march on till victory is won.

Stony the road we trod, bitter the chastening rod,
Felt in the days when hope unborn had died;
Yet with a steady beat, have not our weary feet,
Come to the place for which our fathers sighed?
We have come over a way that with tears has been watered,
We have come, treading our path through the blood of the slaughtered;
Out from the gloomy past, till now we stand at last
Where the white gleam of our bright star is cast.

God of our weary years, God of our silent tears,
Thou Who hast brought us thus far on the way;
Thou Who hast by Thy might, led us into the light,
Keep us forever in the path, we pray.
Lest our feet stray from the places, our God, where we met Thee.
Lest our hearts, drunk with the wine of the world, we forget Thee.
Shadowed beneath Thy hand, may we forever stand,
True to our God, true to our native land.

Special Updates

Homecoming 2019 October 24–27, 2019

CBS Walkout 50th Anniversary October 25, 2019

YOUR 2019 BLACK CONGRATULATORY COMMITTEE:

Dr. Julius Bailey
Dr. Sha'dawn Battle
Leul Bulcha '20
Holly Gersbacher '03
Raymond Jones
Joshua Moore
Seneca Neal '20
Meseker Tefera '21
Christal Davison-Welch '20
Molly Fannon Williams

INVALUABLE ADMINISTRATIVE ASSISTANCE FROM:

Brandee Bates-Kern Sarah Fox Janet E. Jackson '75 Sarah Shivler '98 Mary Beth Wendt

