April 11, 2024
Life At Witt

2024 Student Leadership Awards Announced

Wittenberg’s Office of Student Involvement Recognizes Students, Faculty, and Staff

Celebrating individuals, organizations, or events that have impacted the campus community in a positive way, Wittenberg hosted the 12th annual Student Leadership Awards on Wednesday, April 10, in historic Weaver Chapel.

From honoring student organizations and advisors, celebrating diversity, health, and wellness, highlighting contributions to spiritual life, and recognizing the University’s unsung heroes, the Office of Student Involvement hosted the event. Nominations were gathered from the entire campus community and recognized at this campus-wide event.

“This event is to honor student leaders, staff, faculty, student organizations, and departments - who each and every day live out the mission and vision of the campus, and contribute to making not only our campus community, but our Springfield community a better, more inclusive place to live, work, and study,” said Katie Simms, director of student involvement. “The Student Leadership Awards recognize exceptional achievements by members of the Wittenberg community who demonstrate a commitment to student engagement through various forms. Each nominee has made a significant impact on Student Life and on behalf of the Office for Student Involvement, I’d like to personally thank you for your contributions!”

Sponsored by Student Involvement, nominations are gathered from across campus and winners are determined through an outsourced selection committee of judges elected by Student Involvement staff to ensure impartial results.

See the full gallery of photos:

2024 Student Leadership Awards

The following is a list of this year’s 2024 Student Leadership Award Winners:

  • Contributions to Health and Wellness Award: Panhellenic Council for their hygiene packing event.
  • Contributions to Community Involvement Award: The Hagen Center, Delta Gamma, WUSEA and the Education Department for their Service at the Stoop events.
  • Contributions to Religious and Spiritual Life: Hope Messer ’24 from Indianapolis, Indiana
  • Contributions to Community Living Award: Piper Jones ’26 from Lanesville, Indiana
  • Celebration of Diversity Program of the Year: McClain Center for Diversity, Witt Late Night, and GSDA for their Drag Show event.
  • Richard R. Scott Outstanding Faculty/Staff Supporter: Jon Duraj
  • Greek Leaders of the Year: Sorority – Emma Wilson ’24 from Mechanicsburg, Ohio, of Alpha Delta Pi. Fraternity - Evan Massey ’24 from Columbus, Ohio, of Delta Tau Delta.
  • Most Improved Chapter of the Year: Delta Tau Delta
  • Greek Chapter of Excellence: Gamma Phi Beta
  • Social Justice Leader of the Year: Naevon Boykin ’25 from Bowie, Maryland
  • New Organization of the Year: Wittenberg Video Game Club
  • Program of the Year: NAMI’s Murder Mystery Party
  • Organization of the Year: NAMI
  • Emerging Leader of the Year: Hannah Alexander ’27 from Vandalia, Ohio
  • Student Leader of the Year: Danny Bean, ’24 from Fort Wayne, Indiana

This year’s judges have a variety of backgrounds and experiences and volunteered to read more than 50 student leadership award nominations, all while managing full-time jobs as higher education professionals. Judges include Keenan Hamilton, academic advisor at The Ohio State University; Michael Malone, assistant vice president of student affairs, Muskingum University; Amanda Huber, executive assistant to the president, Muskingum University; Alex Morris, assistant director of housing, Case Western University; Jordan Sandoe, district director, Boy Scouts of America; Jay Reeves, associate director of admissions operations, University of Indianapolis; Brittany Muncy, student success manager, Purdue Global; Cayla Stigers, senior admissions counselor, University of Louisville; Colton Janes, assistant director of online development, University of Nebraska at Omaha; and Elinor Fortescue, director of annual giving, Capital University.

Cindy Holbrook
Cindy Holbrook
Senior Communications Assistant

About Wittenberg

Wittenberg's curriculum has centered on the liberal arts as an education that develops the individual's capacity to think, read, and communicate with precision, understanding, and imagination. We are dedicated to active, engaged learning in the core disciplines of the arts and sciences and in pre-professional education grounded in the liberal arts. Known for the quality of our faculty and their teaching, Wittenberg has more Ohio Professors of the Year than any four-year institution in the state. The university has also been recognized nationally for excellence in community service, sustainability, and intercollegiate athletics. Located among the beautiful rolling hills and hollows of Springfield, Ohio, Wittenberg offers more than 100 majors, minors and special programs, enviable student-faculty research opportunities, a unique student success center, service and study options close to home and abroad, a stellar athletics tradition, and successful career preparation.

Back to top