April 4, 2018
On Campus

Leading the Way

Wittenberg’s Office of Student Involvement Recognizes Campus Leaders During Annual Event

Wittenberg’s Office of Student Involvement hosted the eighth annual Leadership Awards. The event, part of this year’s presidential Inauguration programming, took place inside the Benham-Pence Student Center’s Dining Room on Wednesday, April 4, and celebrated individuals, organizations and events that impacted the campus community in a positive way throughout the 2017-18 academic year, all of which contributed to the university’s success.

Committee members received a record 136 nominations for 21 awards leading up to the event, which is sponsored by Student Involvement, Student Senate, the Interfraternity Council and the Panhellenic Council.

Award winners were selected based on a shared set of criteria and chosen by members of a selection committee that included a variety of professionals and graduate students.

The following is a list of this year’s winners:

Program of Year Award – Drag Show (Residential Housing Association and Gender and Sexual Diversity Alliance)
Contributions to Community Living Award – Housing Lottery Marketing
Outstanding Community Service & Philanthropy Award – Alpha Delta Pi and Phi Kappa Psi
Dietrich Academic Excellence Awards – Gamma Phi Beta and Lambda Chi Alpha
Advisor of the Year Award – Lionel Worman (Role Playing Guild)
Volunteer Advisor of the Year Award – Christian Gamm (Sigma Kappa)
Contributions to Community Involvement Award – Lesotho Nutrition Initiative
Richard R. Scott Faculty/Staff Member of the Year Award – Kevin Carey (Student Involvement)
Contributions to Health and Wellness Award – Peer Advocate Program (coordinated by Hannah Brown and Emily Parsons)
Wittenberg Woman of the Year Award (student) – Lizzie McNeill
Wittenberg Woman of the Year Award (faculty) – Sarah Jurewicz (Health, Fitness and Sport Department)
Wittenberg Woman of the Year Award (staff) – Karen Hunt (Admission)
Celebration of Diversity Award – Negrophilia (hosted by Dr. Julius Bailey and Dr. Sha’Dawn Battle)
Contributions to Religious and Spiritual Life Award – Pub Theology (coordinated by the Pastor’s Office, Megan Mong and Campus Ministries)
Most Improved Chapter Award – Alpha Xi Delta
Tiger Award – Libby Bauman, Carly Bockhold, Jaymi Green, Michael Kovack and Sarah White
Unsung Hero Award – Vanessa Foland (Parkhurst Dining Services)
Emerging Leader of the Year Award – Abby Glass
Greek Woman of the Year Award – Kayla Winn (Alpha Delta Pi)
Greek Man of the Year Award – Lucas George (Delta Tau Delta)
Club Sport/Recreation Organization of the Year Award – Caving Club
New Organization of the Year Award – Water Polo Club
Chapter of Excellence Award – Kappa Delta
Student Organization of the Year Award – Witt Invest

Recitation Hall
University Communications Staff
Staff Report

About Wittenberg

Wittenberg's curriculum has centered on the liberal arts as an education that develops the individual's capacity to think, read, and communicate with precision, understanding, and imagination. We are dedicated to active, engaged learning in the core disciplines of the arts and sciences and in pre-professional education grounded in the liberal arts. Known for the quality of our faculty and their teaching, Wittenberg has more Ohio Professors of the Year than any four-year institution in the state. The university has also been recognized nationally for excellence in community service, sustainability, and intercollegiate athletics. Located among the beautiful rolling hills and hollows of Springfield, Ohio, Wittenberg offers more than 100 majors, minors and special programs, enviable student-faculty research opportunities, a unique student success center, service and study options close to home and abroad, a stellar athletics tradition, and successful career preparation.

Back to top