Skip to Content

Excellence in Teaching

Wittenberg University is committed to excellence in teaching. There are several awards given out to recognize this excellence.

Omicron Delta Kappa Faculty excellence in teaching award: The ODK award honors a current faculty member with less than five years of dedicated service to Wittenberg and is selected and awarded by students.

  • 2019: Dr. Michael Daiga
  • 2018: Dr. Brooke Wagner
  • 2017: Dr. Nancy Woehrle
  • 2016: Dr. Kate Polak McDonald
  • 2015: Dr. Amber Burgett
  • 2014: Dr. Julius Bailey
  • 2013: Dr. Richard Phillips

The Alumni Association Award for Distinguished Teaching: The Alumni association award for distinguished teaching is presented in recognition of superior classroom teaching and contributions to the academic life of the students and faculty of Wittenberg University. This award is given by alumni and is the highest award a member of Wittenberg University's faculty can receive. Click Here for complete list.

  • 2019: Dr. Elizabeth George
  • 2018: Dr. Adam Parker
  • 2017: Dr. Jeffrey Brookings
  • 2016: Dr. John Ritter
  • 2015: Dr. Robin Inboden
  • 2014: Dr. Catherine Egley Waggoner
  • 2013: Dr. Wendy Gradwohl

The Collegium Award for Excellence and Innovation in Teaching: is an annual award that recognizes outstanding teaching as well as a faculty member's commitment to growing and improving as a teaching scholar. It is the only teaching award at Wittenberg that is awarded by the faculty itself. Any faculty member who has taught at Wittenberg for at least three years is eligible for this award.

  • 2018: Dr. Cynthia Richards
  • 2016: Dr. Justin Houseknecht
  • 2015: Dr. Darlene Brooks Hedstrom, Dr. Rick Incorvati
  • 2013: Dr. Heather Wright
  • 2012: Dr. Stefne Broz

The Provost's Award for Outstanding Teaching: recognizes the highest level of teaching excellence by a visiting or adjunct faculty member at Wittenberg University.

  • 2019: Dr. Daniel Marous
  • 2018: Dr. Sha'Dawn Battle
  • 2016: Dr. Cara do Amaral
  • 2015: Dr. Joshua Paddison
  • 2014: Dr. Sunny Jeong

The Matthies Award: recognizes worthy teachers and their work:

  • 2019: Dr. Sha'Dawn Battle
  • 2018: Dr. Brian Yontz
  • 2017: Mr. Scott Dooley
  • 2014: Dr. Cynthia Richards
  • 2012: Dr. Steven Bogaerts
Back to top