Skip to Content

The Student CARE Team

The Student Care Team meets to identify, assess and respond to concerns and/or potential threats to the campus community. The team will maintain communication with appropriate offices and individuals. Examples of issues that fall under the purview of the Student Care Team include but are not limited to:

  • Suicide
  • Eating disorder
  • Cutting behavior
  • Serious injury or illness
  • Death of a student
  • A missing student
  • Immediate danger/harm
  • Sexual assault
  • Worrisome or unusual behavior
  • Disruption in classroom
  • Threats, stalking, intimidation
  • Hate crimes
  • Anything impacting class attendance

Resources for faculty and staff

You often get the first glimpse of students in trouble, and you may be the first person a student turns to for help. Responding can be confusing and overwhelming. The Faculty/Staff Student Care Guide was prepared to help you.

Information You Should Know

It’s difficult to be mindful of all the things going on around you. But there are often many outward signs that a student is in distress. Knowing what to notice, what to do and what to avoid could be the lifeline your student needs to get help. Additionally, reporting ‘odd’ behavior that causes you concern may just be one more piece of a larger puzzle that the Student Care Team needs to provide that student with assistance.

Be mindful of a/an:

  • Anxious student
  • Demanding student
  • Depressed student
  • Suicidal student
  • Severely disoriented or psychotic student
  • Aggressive or potentially violent student

What to do:

  • Remain calm and in control.
  • Respond to disruptive behavior quickly and with firm limits.
  • Move students to a quiet and secure place.
  • Listen attentively and respond in a considerate and straight forward manner.
  • Make arrangements for appropriate University intervention.
  • Be knowledgeable in advance about referral systems.

What to avoid:

  • Overwhelming or arguing with a student.
  • Ignoring behavior that is having an impact on other students.

Report A Concern About A Student

  • Have you observed something in someone that has you worried?
  • Have you seen a classmate or hall mate begin to act differently? Strangely?
  • You don’t know who to ask about it or you just want someone to know.

There are a number of ways to report it, below are few ways:

  1. File a student conduct report
  2. File a concerning behavior report
  3. File a Report Form for Incidents of Sex Discrimination, Misconduct, Relationship Violence and/or Stalking
  4. Call the counseling center at 937-327-7811
  5. Consult with the Dean of Students or the Student Development staff member on-call

*Please note, these are NOT emergency reporting mechanisms. This information may not be accessed for up to 48 hours.

If you have an immediate campus safety issue, please call Wittenberg Police at 937-327-6363.

Wittenberg Student Care Team members include:

COORDINATOR:

Jon Duraj
Associate Dean for Student Success and Retention
jduraj@wittenberg.edu
937-327-7817

MEMBERS:

Casey Gill
Dean of Students and Title IX Coordinator
gillc@wittenberg.edu
937-327-7801

Sherri Sadowski
Associate Dean for Residence Life
sadowskis@wittenberg.edu
937-327-7808

John Young
Associate Dean for Multicultural Student Affairs
jyoung@wittenberg.edu
937-327-7803

Amanda Addy
Director of Student Counseling
addya@wittenberg.edu
937-327-7811

Gwen Owen
Director of Student Conduct and Deputy Title IX Coordinator
oweng@wittenberg.edu
937-327-7804

Lee McCartney
Lieutenant, Wittenberg Police Division
mccartneyl@wittenberg.edu
937-327-7093

Anders Tune
University Pastor
atune@wittenberg.edu
937-327-7412

Grace Whiteley
Disability Services Coordinator
whitelyg@wittenberg.edu
937-327-7958

Jay Owen
Men’s Lacrosse Head Coach
owenj@wittenberg.edu
937-327-6541

Kate Page
Assistant Director, Residence Life – New and Woodlawn Halls
pagek@wittenberg.edu
937-327-7570

Tendai Ushendibaba
Area Coordinator – Firestine and Myers Halls
ushendibabat@wittenberg.edu
937-327-7572

Cecilia Gray
Area Coordinator – Tower and Polis Halls
grayc@wittenberg.edu
937-327-7575

Michele Curran
Graduate Assistant for Residence Life – Ferncliff Hall
curranm@wittenberg.edu
937-327-7550

Additional members of the community may be included on the Student Care Team as needed, including but not limited to:

  • Provost
  • University Counsel
  • Information Technology risk management representative
  • University Communications representative
  • Business office representative for environmental health and/or safety, risk management

 

Back to top