Communication & Digital Media Department Quick Facts

Departmental Honors and Recognition

  • In 2010, Wittenberg's department of communication won the Rex Mix Program of Excellence award from the Undergraduate College and University Section of the National Communication Association.

  • The Integrated Media Corps (IMC), a collaborative academic and work-study program designed to help interested students learn how to become the media professionals of the future, won the Distinguished Program Award from the Ohio Communication Association in 2014.

  • Associate Professor Katie Warber was named Wittenberg's Woman of the Year in 2013.

  • In 2013, Associate Professor Sheryl Cunningham was awarded the Lou Laux Environmental Sustainability Award for her efforts and creativity devoted to cultivating a spirit of environmentalism on campus. Dr. Cunningham also earned the Distinguished New Teacher Award from the Ohio Communication Association in 2013.

  • Associate Professor Stefne Broz won Wittenberg's 2012 Collegium Award for Excellence in Teaching, the only teaching award given by the faculty itself.

  • In 2014, Professor of Communication Catherine Waggoner earned the Wittenberg Alumni Award for Distinguished Teaching, the highest honor a professor can receive at Wittenberg.

Back to top