Skip to Content

History Faculty & Staff

Contact Information:

Hollenbeck Hall 302
(937) 327-7836

Department Chair

Christian Raffensperger

Christian Raffensperger, Ph.D.
Department Chair and Professor of History
Director of Pre-Modern & Ancient World Studies 

Medieval Europe, Russia
Hollenbeck Hall 311
(937) 327-7843
craffensperger@wittenberg.edu

Department Assistant

Beth Wendt

Beth Wendt
Academic Assistant
Hollenbeck Hall 302
(937) 327-7836
mwendt@wittenberg.edu

Faculty & Staff

Christian Raffensperger

Christian Raffensperger, Ph.D.
Department Chair and Professor of History
Director of Pre-Modern & Ancient World Studies 

Medieval Europe, Russia
Hollenbeck Hall 311
(937) 327-7843
craffensperger@wittenberg.edu

Scott Rosenberg

Scott Rosenberg, Ph.D.
Professor of History, Honorary Consul for the Kingdom of Lesotho
Director of African and Diaspora Studies

Sub-Saharan Africa
Hollenbeck Hall 305
(937) 327-7846
srosenberg@wittenberg.edu

Thomas T. Taylor

Thomas T. Taylor, Ph.D.
Professor of History
Early U.S., Public History
Hollenbeck Hall 301
(937) 327-7849
ttaylor@wittenberg.edu

Molly Wood

Molly Wood, Ph.D.
Professor of History
Modern U.S. and Diplomatic History
The Robert Sammis Sr. Director of the University Honors Program
Hollenbeck Hall 314
(937) 327-7844
mwood@wittenberg.edu

Beth Wendt

Beth Wendt
Academic Assistant
Hollenbeck Hall 302
(937) 327-7836
mwendt@wittenberg.edu

Emeriti Faculty

 

Robert Cutler, Ph.D.
Years of Service: 1958-99
rcutler@wittenberg.edu

 

Robert Hartje
Deceased (Years of Service: 1956-88)

 

Albert Hayden
Years of Service: 1954-94

Jim Huffman

James Huffman, Ph.D.
Years of Service: 1958-99
jhuffman@wittenberg.edu

 

Richard Ortquist, Ph.D.
Years of Service: 1964-99
rortquist@wittenberg.edu

 

Joseph O'Connor, Ph.D.
Years of Service: 1967-2006
jeoconnor@wittenberg.edu

Robert Smith

Robert Smith, M.A.
Years of Service: 1977-78, 1982-83, 1987-88, 1991-92, 1993-2000 (11 years total)
rsmith@wittenberg.edu

 

Cynthia Behrman
Deceased (Years of Service: 1965-93)

 

Paul Bloomhardt
Deceased (Years of Service: 1925-56)

 

Peter Celms
Deceased (Years of Service: 1962-98)

 

Charles Chatfield
Deceased (Years of Service: 1961-99)

 

Margaret Ermarth
Deceased (Years of Service: 1953-74)

Back to top