Psychology Student Opportunities

Departmental Honorary

Psi Chi LogoPsi Chi, the National Honor Society in Psychology, is the largest psychological association in the world. The society was started in 1929 by Frederick "Bud" Lewis and Edwin "Eddie" Newman. Since its beginning, Psi Chi has set out to maintain excellence and support research in the field of psychology, at both the graduate and undergraduate level. Many prominent psychologists have been members of Psi Chi, including: B. F. Skinner, Albert Bandura, Carl Rogers, and Phillip Zimbardo. Wittenberg University holds a special place in Psi Chi's illustrious history. Wittenberg started one of the first chapters of Psi Chi, and was the very first small liberal arts college to do so.

Psi Chi sponsors conferences, paper readings, and presents graduate, undergraduate, and faculty awards. Each year, to support the field of psychology, the society awards scholarships to members. Anyone who is a member may apply for one of these scholarships. Psi Chi also publishes a magazine, and holds a conference each year. Numerous Wittenberg Students have attended these Psi Chi conferences.

Each Spring and Autumn new members are inducted, Membership to Psi Chi is selective. There is a required fee, and at Wittenberg to become a member of Psi Chi the following criteria must be met:

  • The student must have completed at least 20 credit hours in Psychology courses.
  • The student must have a GPA of 3.5 in Psychology courses. GPA calculator
  • The student must have a cumulative GPA of 3.3.


  • Congratulations to our 2023 Psi Chi Inductees:
    • Emilio Gutierrez, Alyson Parks
  • Congratulations to our 2022 Psi Chi Inductees:
    • Abigail Gerstenzang, Tiana Hughes, Annmeri Turner, Julie Fisher
  • Congratulations to our 2021 Psi Chi Inductees:
    • Chloe R. Beaver, Ethan M. Belknap, Ashley A. Brooks, Haley N. Eckhert, Gabriell M. Hancock, Monica A. Hosler, Hannah N. Jackson, Madison M. Lakosky, Clare N. Neltner, Harley C. Paul, Ashley J. Save, Taryn J. Smith, Eleanor V. Wenner
  • Congratulations to our 2020 Inductees:
    • Danielle B. Gilbert, Theresa K. Harper, Caitlyn M. Hum, Lucas A. Klever, Natalie M. Lowen, Elexis A. Spence, Sara E. Sullivan, Gabrielle Zysik
  • Congratulations to our 2019 Inductees (pictured):
    • Meagan Tanner, Kidron Taylor, Rebecca Towns, Zacchaeus Martin, Cassidy Taylor, Tara Buchy, Alexander Sheppard

Psi Chi 2018 Honorees

Departmental Awards

Award for Professional Potential

The Award for Professional Potential honors a senior student in Psychology who has demonstrated the potential to make a significant professional contribution.

Congratulations to all of our recipients:

  • 2023: Haley Eckhert
  • 2022: Danielle Crislip
  • 2021: Lucas Klever
  • 2020: Cassidy S. Taylor
  • 2019: Zacchaeus Martin
  • 2018: Catlin Martin, Joseph Johnson
  • 2017: Zoey Wilson
  • 2016: Elizabeth Nelson
  • 2015: Matthew Preda
  • 2014: Doreen Hipp
  • 2013: Grace Whiteley
  • 2012: Julia Smith

Bethlehem Steel Award

The Bethlehem Steel Award recognizes an outstanding senior student in Psychology for academic achievement and unique contributions to the Psychology program.

Congratulations to all of our recipients:

  • 2023: Abigail Gerstenzang
  • 2022: Ashley Brooks
  • 2021: Kidron Taylor
  • 2020: Tara E. Buchy
  • 2019: Cassie McLean
  • 2018: Alisha Genetin
  • 2017: Kristy Bowen
  • 2016: Heather Vose
  • 2015: Nicholas DeRose
  • 2014: Maija Mikkelsen
  • 2013: Rachel Merchak
  • 2012: Danielle Walerius

Virgil E. Rahn Memorial Award

The Virgil E. Rahn Memorial Award honors an outstanding junior student in Psychology for superior work in the discipline and promise as a future psychologist.

Congratulations to all of our recipients:

  • 2023: Kaulana Smith
  • 2022: Abigail Gerstenzang
  • 2021: Ashley Brooks
  • 2020: Lucas A. Klever
  • 2019: Tara Buchy
  • 2018: Cassie McLean
  • 2017: Alisha Genetin, Tyler Begg
  • 2016: Kelsey Lorko
  • 2015: Kristy Bowen
  • 2014: Matthew Preda
  • 2013: Eileen Parry
  • 2012: Rachel Merchak

Meagan Toothman Scholarship

This scholarship is awarded to two junior or senior psychology majors who are hardworking, passionate and engaged in the community. The foundation and this scholarship are in honor of alumna Meagan Toothman.

Congratulations to all of our recipients:

  • 2022: Abigail Gerstenzang. Amy R. Bidwill
  • 2021: Madison Lakosky, Harley Paul
  • 2020: Alyssa Fesenmyer, Lucas Klever
  • 2019: Jubileen Kombe, Gabrielle Zysik
  • 2018: Andrew Sheppard, Cassie McLean
  • 2017: Alisha Genetin, Lizzie McNeill
  • 2016: Kelsey Lorko, Troy Weathers
  • 2015: Heather Vose, Elizabeth Nelson
  • 2014: Paige Erb, Ana Jeanne Campion
  • 2013: Paige Erb
Back to top