Business & Economics Awards & Honors

    Tau Pi Phi Award

    The Tau Pi Phi award is given each year to the business major who has one of the highest grade point averages in the graduating class.

    Woodrow Wilson Prize for Excellence in Business

    This award is made available by the widow and children of Dr. Woodrow Wilson, Professor Emeritus of Business Administration (1956-1978), was created to give annual financial awards to students who major and excel in business.

      Financial Executives Institute Award

      Each year the Central Ohio Chapter recognizes the top senior Wittenberg finance student. The award is based on the student's academic achievement, campus leadership, extracurricular participation, and personal characteristics. The recipient receives an engraved bronze medallion and inclusion on a permanent plaque in the department.

        Denise L. Calvert Leadership Award

        This award, named for a 1980 business graduate who was an outstanding campus leader, is given to the senior business major who provides significant leadership to both the department and university, while offering a strong example of dedication to scholarship and the needs of others. The recipient of this award receives a medallion to wear at graduation.

        Faculty Award for Excellence

        This award recognizes the graduating business major with the greatest potential for career success. These seniors have a 3.2 or better GPA. The department provides a permanent plaque and medallion to wear at graduation.

          The Lowell E. Stockstill III Investment Award

          This award is sponsored by the WittInvest Investment Club and was renamed in 2010 to honor the founding advisor, recognizes students of high academic achievement who further the American free enterprise system via their knowledge of markets and investments.

          Distinguished Portfolio Honors

          SHRMA Award/ Kristen Yarger Memorial Scholarship

          The Kristen Yarger Memorial Scholarship is sponsored by the Springfield local chapter of the Society for Human Resource Management (SHRMA). The $1,000 award is given to a rising junior or senior pursuing a curriculum for a career in Human Resource Management. The scholarship is named in memory of Kristen Yarger, who spearheaded and established criteria for the scholarship fund in 1990.

          Wall Street Journal Award (Offered 1988-2008)

          This award recognizes the graduating business major with the greatest potential for career success. Dow Jones and Company provides a one-year subscription to The Wall Street Journal, a medallion, and a permanent plaque.

          Back to top